NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A Memo 3/31/2017

NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A 3/31/2017

  1. Q: B1 is closely guarding ball carrier A1 when the official becomes aware that B1 is not wearing his mouthpiece. Is this a flag down or immediate whistle?

    A: Unless A1 is in the act of shooting, this is an immediate whistle. B1 serves 30 seconds. Award the ball to Team A. (Rule 4-24-1)

  2. The ball is loose and a player’s mouthpiece is dangling from his facemask. Is this a play-on or an immediate whistle?

    A: This is an immediate whistle. Award the ball to the other team. (Rule 4-24-1)

  3. Between quarters, an equipment check shows that A1 does not have a mouthpiece and B1 has a deep pocket. Are these simultaneous fouls? Do both players serve penalty time? How do we start the next quarter?

    A: Simultaneous fouls. A1 serves 30 seconds. B1 serves one minute. (Both fouls are non-releasable.) The next period begins with a face-off. (Rules 4-3-1, 6-5-2-x)

  4. Q: A1 has possession behind the goal, and B1 (non-goalie defender) is guarding him from the crease in front of the goal. Is this a violation on B1?

    A: No. B1 is permitted in the crease to cover his opponent. A violation has only occurred when a non-goalie defender enters the crease with the intent to act as goalkeeper. (Rule 4-18-4)

  5. Q: B1 (non-goalie defender) slides through the crease while covering A1. A2 shoots the ball from in front of the goal and the shot strikes B1 while he is in the crease. Is this a violation on B1?

    A: No. B1 is permitted in the crease to cover his opponent. The fact that he was struck with a shot does not, in and of itself, indicate that he entered the crease with the intent to act as goalkeeper. (Rule 4-18-4)

  6. Q: The ball is loose in front of the crease and B1 goalkeeper has left his crease in an attempt to play the loose ball. A scrum develops around the ball and B2 (non-goalie defender) steps in the crease placing himself between the scrum and the open goal. Is this a violation on B2? If so, is this a play-on or an immediate whistle?

    A: Yes. B2 is shielding the goal and acting as goalkeeper. This should be an immediate whistle. Award the ball to Team A if this is B2’s first violation; for a second or subsequent violation, B2 serves one releasable minute. (Rule 4-18-4)

  7. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into and out of Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. The ball is now pushed back over the midfield line, still without either team having gained possession. Is this an over-and- back violation?

    A: No. No team has gained possession of the ball, so there is no over-and-back violation at this point. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)

  8. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. A1 now gains possession of the ball in the box and carries it out of the box. Is a 10-second count started? If A1 were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?

    A: A count does not begin since A1 established possession inside his attack box. If A1 were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would be an over-and-back violation. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)

  9. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into and out of Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. A1 now gains possession of the ball outside of the box. Is a 10-second count begun? If A1 were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?

    A: A 10-second count begins when A1 gains possession of the ball outside of the box. If A1 were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would not be an over-and-back violation. The 10-second count would continue. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)

  10. Q: Team A has established possession in its attack area. A1 pass from behind the goal is deflected by B1 and crosses back over the midline. The ball is now pushed back into Team A’s offensive half were A2 gains possession of the ball. Is a 10- second count started? If Team A were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?

    A: A count does not begin since there was no change of possession. If Team A were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would be an over-and-back violation. NOTE: Per 4-14-1 SITUATION C, if Team A had gained possession in its defensive half, a 20-second count would begin. (Rule 4-14-1 SITUATIONS C & D)

  11. Q. A1 face-off player has added a covering to the top 6” of the shaft that meets contrasting color requirements but is made of a rubber-like or other material that improves the grip. Is this allowed?

A: Yes. As long as the covering does not increase the circumference of the handle beyond 3.5” (per Rule 1-6-1), such a covering is expressly allowed by Rule 1-8, which states:

“Handles that have been altered in any fashion other than taping or adding another covering designed to improve the grip are illegal.”

Taping or adding another covering designed to improve the grip is therefore legal.

3