2018 News News and Announcements

2018 Vermont / New Hampshire Game

The Vermont Lacrosse Officials Association Executive Board has chosen Ken Bourneuf to represent our association and Vermont as an official in the Vermont/New Hampshire All-Star game later this month.  We identify an “up and coming” official each year who we believe has put the work in to improve their craft in areas of rules knowledge, mechanics, communication and game management.  Congratulations Ken Bourneuf!

Brett DiVenere, President
Craig Benson, Vice President
Paul Trono, Secretary, Treasurer

2018 News News and Announcements

2018 VLOA business meeting memo and Agenda


The VLOA 2018 business meeting and training will be held on Sunday, March 11, 2017, at the SHAPE facility (click for Google map) on the campus of VTech in Randolph.
Meeting will begin with registration/coffee at 8:30, and convene @ 9 am.

Below are:

  1. Draft agenda for the March 11, 2018 business meeting at SHAPE facility on campus of Vermont Tech in Randolph, VT. Click here to view the Agenda.
  2. General memo and requirements to participate in high school officiating in 2018. Click here to view the Memo.

If you have not received a rule book before the meeting, please let Paul Trono know ASAP. (

If you do not plan to take assignments in 2018, please let Paul know.

Please contact me if there are questions.

Best wishes in the year ahead.

Bill Powell – VLOA President

2018 News News and Announcements

Eric Evans Awarded the NILOA “French Julien Service Award”


L-R: Eric Evans with Frenchy Julien Award, NILOA President Brian Abbott, and Keith McFie with Bernie Ulman Award.

Eric Evans has been awarded the NILOA “FRENCHY JULIEN SERVICE AWARD” Presented in honor of former Chief Referee, Joseph R. “Frenchy” Julien for outstanding and continuous service to the sport of Lacrosse.


Criteria for selecting nominee:  Presented in honor of former Chief Referee, Joseph R. “Frenchy” Julien for outstanding and continuous service to the sport. The Frenchy Julian Award recipient shall be an active or past member of the NILOA, or prior to the formation of the NILOA an intercollegiate lacrosse official, who has contributed to the continued success of the NILOA and, when applicable, has made a meaningful contribution to the game of lacrosse.

Eric Evans










1994 – Henry “Hank” Molloy
1995 – Matt Swerdloff
1996 – Mike Collver
1997 – Jake Curran
1998 – Al Blau
1999 – Roy Condon
2000 – Jim Carroll
2001 – Mel Tomalty
2002 – Richard Tamberrino
2003 – Craig Brown
2004 – Bob Mauney
2005 – Bob Durland
2006 – Tim Cullen
2007 – Walt Munze
2008 – Jim Carboneau
2009 – David Seidman
2010 – Ray Buckle
2011 – John McGrath
2012 – Gary Alabaster
2013 – Bob Curcio
2014 – Butch West
2015 – Warren Kimber
2016 – Bob Schwalb
2017 Eric Evans


2018 News 2018 Quizzes Rules/Quizzes/Tips/Reminders

2018 NFHS Rules Changes and Point of Emphasis